Thursday, October 30, 2008

U.S. Soccer Referees Nominated for MLS Awards

MLS announced the finalists for its season end awards today, with U.S. Soccer Referees Jair Marrufo and Terry Vaughn picking up nods for the 2008 Referee of the Year award. The pair will vie with Mike Kennedy for the award, which is to be given away on November 6 from MLS headquarters in New York. For a full list of the season end awards, click here.

Jair Marrufo Pre-Selected for World Cup

U.S. Soccer referee Jair Marrufo has been pre-selected to represent the CONCACAF region at the 2010 FIFA World Cup. FIFA released a list of 38 officials from which the referees for the 2010 FIFA World Cup will be chosen.

All 38 referees have attended various FIFA seminars and officiated in FIFA competitions since 2006, when the selection process began. Candidates were judged on performance in international matches, as well as various tests, including technical, physical and medical tests. Marrufo is joined on the list by fellow CONCACAF referees Joel Aguilar from El Salvador, Benito Archundia and Marco Rodriguez from Mexico and Carlos Batres from Guatemala